15.000 Songs

Digital media consumption is one of the most exciting topics these days. For me personally the biggest part of it is music. In my last post on the collectors nightmare, I also praised the beauty of a digital library. It just so happened that my Last.fm account scrobbled 15.000 songs that I listened to over the last 2 years. Time for some digital media consumption analysis.

Does the long tail really exist? When it comes to digital music consumption most definitely. The greatest thing about last.fm is not the output as a radio channel. It is rather what it does with the input as a digital archive for all the music consumed. At least the music I listen to on my iTunes and my iPod (which is probably 90%) is scrobbled constantly, creating my personal charts. The only thing I haven’t figured out yet, is how it might scrobble my CD player in the car. I guess I just need to use the iPod there as well.

These are the statistics of my personal music consumption since July 2009: 15.000 scrobbled songs in 753 days are 20 songs per day on average. Overall I listened to 667 (the neighbour of the beast 🙂 ) artists in total. You can also check out the real-time last.fm charts.

Top 10 Artists

  1. Brant Bjork
  2. God is an Astronaut
  3. Parkway Drive
  4. Biohazard
  5. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
  6. Pothead
  7. Metallica
  8. Deftones
  9. Volbeat
  10. Kings of Convenience

Brant Bjork is the winner with 525 plays. He has such a great discography with so many catchy songs. It’s just great singer-songwriter stuff of one of stoner rocks true legends. I discovered the whole discography over the last 2 years and I can highly recommend every album. If you want to start with one, ‘Local Angel’ is the best because most relaxed choice.

 

 

God is an Astronaut is an Irish indie / post-rock band with epic melodies in their purely instrumental tracks. Also highly recommended, especially the album ‘All is Violent, All is Bright’.

Parkway Drive are a bunch of surfer dudes from Byron Bay Australia. Despite their extremely chilled hometown, they are doing some extreme metalcore  stuff. Last year they released their third album ‘Deep Blue’.

Top 10 Albums

  1. Brant Bjork – Local Angel
  2. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – The Social Network (OST)
  3. Parkway Drive – Deep Blue
  4. Deftones – Diamond Eyes
  5. Alexi Murdoch – Away we go
  6. Pothead – Rocket Boy
  7. God is an Astronaut – All is Violent, All is Bright
  8. …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead – Tao of the Dead
  9. Parkway Drive – Killing With a Smile
  10. Gorillaz – Plastic Beach

Among the Top 10 albums you really need to check The Social Network soundtrack, which is another atmospheric masterpiece by Trent Reznor. The most important recommendation: Deftones – Diamond Eyes, one of my favourite bands and probably the best release of 2010, also including Rocket Skates.

 

 

Top 10 Songs

  1. Manowar – Manowar
  2. Biohazard – How it is
  3. Brant Bjork – Chico
  4. Deftones – Rocket Skates
  5. Brant Bjork – The Feelin’
  6. Brant Bjork – Fly to Haiti
  7. Parkway Drive – Romance is Dead
  8. Deftones – Prince
  9. Brant Bjork – Bliss Ave.
  10. Brant Bjork – You’re Alright

What can I say? The top song with 48 plays is Manowar – Manowar 😉 You can say whatever you want, I just love these guys. It was one of the first metal bands I listened to more than 20 years ago and over the last three years I worked with them on a couple of projects. I supported the band with a social media strategy in setting up their Facebook page which is now at almost half a million fans. The band and the crew of Magic Circle Music became friends of mine. This song from the 2011 re-release of their epic first record Battle Hymns is a real metal classic since 1981. Enjoy.

 

 

Talking about the long tail. Here is the full picture of all 667 artists and the number of plays they got. From Brant Bjork (525 plays) to The Hives (1 play).









Tags: , ,

About aschauerte

Marketing, Media, Communications and Business Strategist.

Leave a Reply

